Press Release: Mobile Crisis Unit Now Covering Northeastern North Carolina

Elizabeth City, N.C. (September 19, 2008) – Albemarle Mental Health Center (AMHC) today announced their newest service to the community, the Mobile Crisis Unit. Beginning its service earlier this month, the Mobile Crisis Unit is a crisis management team that can be brought on-scene anywhere in Martin, Chowan, Perquimans, and Washington counties, areas covered by AMHC. The Mobile Unit is operated by Integrated Family Services.

Mobile crisis management involves offering support and treatment necessary to prevent and stabilize a crisis and ultimately link the consumer to the care they need. The service provides top-quality care in the patient’s home environment. This eliminates the need for a patient in crisis to travel long distances for treatment.

“Oftentimes we are unable to reach those who need AMHC’s help the most,” said Dr. Hunter Thompson, clinical director of Albemarle Mental Health Center. “Now with the help of the Mobile Crisis Unit, we are able to bring the care directly to an individual in a swift and timely manner. Also, evidence shows that people are more receptive to care because it is being offered in their environment, making them more relaxed and at ease.”

Each time the unit is deployed, it carries a well-trained team. Members include a NC certified psychiatrist, social worker, qualified substance abuse counselor, and developmental disorder counselor from AMHC – all of whom must have at least one year of experience working within their field.

Notices and referrals for crisis care can come from anyone: law enforcement, family members, the Department of Social services, or even the client themselves. These calls are received on the Unit’s own crisis line: 1-888-627-4747. If you find yourself, a friend or family member experiencing a crisis, do not hesitate to call.

How to Get Help?

Northeastern North Carolina residents can begin to find help from qualified professionals by:

  • Contacting your family physician.
  • Visiting or calling 1-877-338-8352 for a list of professionals in your area.
  • Contacting your local Albemarle Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services office. They provide diagnostic evaluations and treatment for these conditions.
    • Avon Unit – serving Hatteras Island
    • Camden Unit – serving Camden County
    • Columbia Unit – serving Tyrell County
    • Edenton United – serving Chowan County
    • Elizabeth City Unit – serving Pasquotank County
    • Grandy Unit – serving Currituck County
    • Hertford Unit – serving Perquimans County
    • Nags Head Unit – serving Dare County
    • Plymouth Unit – serving Washington County
    • Swan Quarter Unit – serving Hyde County
    • Williamston Unit – serving Martin County

About Albemarle Mental Health Center

Albemarle Mental Health Center provides and oversees mental health, substance abuse and development disability service delivery to all citizens within the 10-county region of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Martin, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington counties. The center also operates the 23-Hour Emergency Psychiatric Unit in Albemarle Hospital that provide emergency psychiatric services. For more information, call 1-877-338-8352 or visit


Leave a Reply